Sports Snippets

  • Just when I get my hopes up, the Giants go and lose a crucial game, and to the Dallas Cowboys, no less. Haven’t had the chance to talk with my sports buddy at work to get his latest take on things. But he’s a Jets fan, so he’s hurting a lot more that I am these days. At least my team has some Super Bowl rings in their recent past. Can’t say the same for those Jets. I was in elementary school when Joe Namath was the quarterback who took the Jets all the way to the Super Bowl in ’68. At least I got something to remember them by…my sports buddy wasn’t even a twinkle in his daddy’s eye.
  • None of the New York sports teams are doing well these days. I’ve taken more interest in the qualifiers for Sochi 2014 than I have with the local sports scene. Watching a lot of figure skating, like Skate America and Skate Canada.
  • And speaking of the Winter Olympics, skier Lindsey Vonn hopes to return to the slopes in December after she re-injured her surgically repaired knee during a training run. She was on the way back after suffering a major injury last February. Well, if it’s anyone who can come back from a major injury, it’s Ms. Vonn. Hope to see her back to form in time for the Games.
  • History was made in the surfing world when Kelia Moniz won her second consecutive ASP Women’s World Longboard Title. Well done! (http://www.surfermag.com/blogs/industry-news/kelia-moniz-claims-back-back-asp-womens-world-longboard-titles/)
  • Now I admit that I don’t know much of anything about cricket. I know it’s played with a ball and a bat, there’s runs, wickets, and a term called “not out,” which I have no idea what it means. It all sounds exciting, but I have no idea what’s going on. I know more about the Canadian sport of curling than I do cricket. (And yes, curling is on my must-watch list for the Winter Olympics!) I think I’ll make a resolution for 2014 to learn about cricket. Well, my ignorance of the game does not stop me from acknowledging the retirement of one of the greatest cricketers to ever pick up a bat—Sachin Tendulkar. He’s the only player to have scored 100 centuries in international cricket. And by all accounts, he is a humble man who played the game with grace and class.
  • Now while Sachin received what is called a “red carpet retirement,” back in the spring I watched a riveting documentary on CNN’s World Sport Presents about a forgotten group of cricket players; the West Indian team who toured Apartheid South Africa in 1983. This year marks the 30th anniversary of the event. Catch the story here: http://edition.cnn.com/2013/03/06/sport/west-indies-branded-a-rebel-cricket/index.html
  • Manny Pacquiao gave his Filipino countrymen something to smile about when he took it Brandon Rios over the weekend. But he says that he has to borrow money in order to fulfill his promise to help those devastated by Typhoon Haiyan because the Philippine authorities have frozen his bank accounts (http://msn.foxsports.com/boxing/story/manny-pacquiao-says-he-is-borrowing-to-give-typhoon-aid-112613?cmpid=msn%253Afoxsports%253Aansfox11).
  • And in World of WWE RAW, John Cena and Randy Orton look to have a match that unifies the World Heavyweight Championship and the WWE Championship.
  • And if you’re a regular viewer of WWE, then you’re familiar with in-studio host Scott Stanford. And WWE fans, I have to tell you, that hosting the WWE is Scott Stanford’s side job. Here in New York, we know him as one of local reporters. He was the sports anchor for WNBC4 New York, until he jumped at the opportunity to co-anchor the evening news on WPIX. He recently did a report on the alarming rise of head injuries among high school athletes (http://po.st/sd97uG). I have two nephews now who play football; after watching this report, I think we all have cause for concern.

And that’s the snip! Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Hanukkah to all! Enjoy your family, friends, food—and the games!

Leave a Reply

