Progress Report: New Year’s Resolution

Last week on the way to work, I passed by a woman with a T-shirt that said, “I like big books and I cannot lie,” right on the morning when I started on the epic Master of the Crossroads. So far, I’m almost a quarter of the way in; this book should take me through the summer (and all the concerts in the parks!).

While I had the paperback version of this book sitting on the pile in my house, I’m reading the e-book. It’s so much easier to read it on my tablet, rather than carrying around a large bulky 700-page. It reminds me of the last question that Richard Quest asks his guests on his business show, “Quest Means Business.” Usually, he’ll ask his guest is, What are your reading, and what type of book do you prefer to read? His seems to be biased toward print books, as are most of his guests. You know, the whole things about the ‘solid’ feel of a print book. But one of his guests mentioned that he was reading his book on a device; it was a big book, and just too much to travel with. What I find interesting is that none of his guests mentioned that they read audiobooks. It seems like the debate is a binary one between print books and e-books.

I read books in all three formats. Usually, I have an audio book and a print or e-book going at the same time. It’s more important for me to be reading something as opposed to what format I’m using to read.

Before we had e-books, I once joked with my younger son that if we didn’t borrow books from the library, we’d have to find another place to live just to store all the books we had read. One reason I was motivated to get through this pile is to get these book read, and out of the house. Cut down some of the clutter.

Luckily, I have a place for these books to go once I’m done with them. We have a small borrowing library in my office. Bring one, borrow one. I’ve put in a few books, including Master of the Crossroads. The book that i have in my office by Attica Locke was taking from the office library. Maybe that will be the next book, just in time for the fall.

The books I put in are: Composing a Life, The Blue Taxi, The Warmest December, Master of the Crossroads, Prince of Frogtown.

The books I put in are: Composing a Life, The Blue Taxi, The Warmest December, The White Queen, Master of the Crossroads, Prince of Frogtown.

Leave a Reply

