Progress Report: New Year’s Resolution

Yea, I know, been missing in action lately. Too busy checking out all the summer concerts. Tomorrow I will attend my 40th concert for the season! Now I’ve done 20, 25 shows in a season; but this year I’ve just been on a roll. One show that passed me by was tonight’s free Stevie Wonder concert at SummerStage. He’s one of my absolute heroes. Oh well. Guess I’ll have to pony up and pay to see him when he swings back to the City in November.

All this traveling around on the trains to chasing concerts means that I’m just about done with Master of the Crossroads. Hope to have it done by the end of the month. A phenomenal historic novel. Highly recommend.

Over the weekend, I was able to borrow the audio version of another book on my list, Consider Phlebas by Iain M. Banks. Should be starting that one soon. And another book to add to the office library.

And speaking of the office, I think that after I’m done with Crossroads, the next print book I’d like to read will be the book that’s sitting on my desk, The Cutting Season by Attica Locke.

In case you’re keeping count, I’ve read four out of the fifteen. Not even close to half. But a nice dent in the pile.

Recently, the thought came to me that, for next year’s reading, I may focus on books that were made into movies. I’ve read the entire Harry Potter series, but I haven’t read The Hunger Games. I don’t watch a lot of movies, but I got to see the second movie in the Hunger Games franchise, and I thought it was great. My Navy son is a fan of Goosebumps, so he’s looking forward to the movie coming out in October. I think I’ll mix up both old and new; on my Kindle I have Frankenstein, and Pride and Prejudice. So we’ll see. Stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

