Progress Report: New Year’s Resolution

Before the holly jolly and the merry merry, one final update…

Last week I started on The Cutting Season by Attica Locke. And I’m about two-thirds of the way through Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese. Two totally different books with the word ‘cutting’ in the title.

Of all of the books that I’ve read this year, the two that I enjoyed the most happened to be the two longest books: Cutting for Stone and Master of the Crossroads. They are both long sagas with unique perspectives.

The most impactful book that I read this year was Between the World and Me. I’m going to gift my two sons with this book, and hopefully we’ll talk about it somewhere down the line.

I would be remiss if I didn’t pay tribute to Benedict Anderson, who passed away on December 19. His seminal work, Imagined Communities, was among the Top 10 Books that Stuck with Me. And also to editor and publisher Curtis F. Harris, who worked as chief executive of Howard University Press, and founded Amistad publishing. I read books published by Howard Press, including And Then We Heard the Thunder by John Oliver Killens and How Europe Underdeveloped Africa by Walter Rodney. As a child, my older son read books by Walter Dean Myers, published under Amistad Press. And one of our all-time favorite books that I read to them was published by Amistad, Mufaro’s Beautiful Daughters by John Steptoe.

What’s on tap for next year? I might start by reading Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. December 16, 2015 marked the 240th anniversary of her birth, and Rosamund Pike just recorded an audiobook of this classic. Hopefully the audiobook will be available in the library by the time I’m finished with Cutting for Stone. I’ll probably listen to the audio along with reading the printed book. Haven’t done that in a while. I got into reading along with the audio when I took a Shakespeare class. My introduction to the wide world of audiobooks.

Hope that your year in books has been just as exciting and enlightening as mine. And here’s to another great year of family, friends, good times, and great books. Happy Holidays!!

 

Leave a Reply

