A Look Back: 10 More Albums that caught my ears in 2015

  1. Spiritman by Steve Turre. Has the best arrangement of Horace Silver’s “Peace” that I’ve heard.
  2. Intents & Purposes by Rez Abbasi Acoustic Quartet.
  3. Made in Brazil by Elaine Elias. Nice mellow set.
  4. What For? by Toro y Moi. Nice set of electronica.
  5. Unity: The Latin Tribute to Michael by Tony Succar. Seriously popping. Splendid reworking of MJ.
  6. Monoswezi Yanga by Monoswezi. Nice meditative type of music.
  7. The Brighter Side: A 25th Anniversary Tribute to Uncle Tupelo’s No Depression. I had no idea who Uncle Tupelo was until I heard this album. Now I want to find out.
  8. Find a Way to Care by John Mayall. As soon as I saw the new John Mayall in Rhapsody, I was happy.
  9. The Story of Sonny Boy Slim by Gary Clark. Powerful set.
  10. For One to Love by Cécile McLorin Salvant. Yes, all the accolades are deserved. Gorgeous voice, full of emotion. And clear enunciation, which is a pet peeve for me as a former singer. If I can’t understand what you’re singing, I can’t listen to you.

Honorable Mentions: This year I had a tough time keeping it down to just twenty. Here’s three that almost made the cut:

Wallflower by Diana Krall

Coup Fatal by Serge Kakudji

Nina Revisited: A Tribute to Nina Simone. Various artists. This album is the soundtrack to the film, What Happened, Miss Simone? While reviews for this album have been mixed at best, I have to admire the young artists who thought to take a look back at an artist who broke the mold.

Leave a Reply

